LaToya Kent, left, and James Longs, back up Kyle Kidd, right, as Mourning [A] BLK-star performs.

Gladisa Guadalupe receives the CAP Lifetime Achievement Artist Award from Karen M. Conley, Cleveland Ballet vice president

The Cleveland Arts Prize continued its long tradition of celebrating northeast Ohio’s exceptional arts community, honoring a new class of life-time, mid-career and emerging artists at its 62nd annual award ceremony at the Cleveland Museum of Art.
In the six decades since its establishment by the Women’s City Club in 1960, the Cleveland Arts Prize has championed the contributions of more than 400 artists, culture leaders and institutions. Each year, five monetary prizes of $10,000 each are awarded for outstanding work in design, literature, theatre and dance, music and visual arts. Three honorary special prizes highlight arts advocacy, community service and leadership in the arts.
The 2022 Cleveland Arts prize medallions were presented to:
• Gladisa Guadalupe, Cleveland Ballet cofounder and artistic director, Lifetime Achievement Artist Award.

Sujatha Srinivasan receives the Martha Joseph Prize from Corrie Slawson CAP 2021.

• Sujatha Srinivasan, Center for Indian Performing Arts artistic director, Martha Joseph Prize for Distinguished Service to the Arts.
• Julie “Little Virgie” Patton, poet/visual artist, Robert P. Bergman Prize for art stewardship through long-term commitment.
• Dominick Farinacci, jazz trumpeter, Mid Career Artist Award.
• Debra Nagy, baroque oboist, Mid Career Artist Award.
• Amber D. Kempthorn, visual artist, Emerging Artist Award.
• Peter Debelak, (posthumous), designer, Emerging Artist Award.
Nurturing nascent talents of future masters, the municipal arts prize foundation also sponsors a scholarship program. The 2022 CAP scholarship recipients are:
• Jamiyah Dotson, Cleveland School of the Arts, Klaus George Roy Scholarship in Music.
• Erin Lynn Hopkins, Cleveland State University, Scholarship in

Karen Long, CAP juror, Grafton Nunes, (CAP ’17) and CAP trustee, and Aseelah Shareef, CAP board chair.

• Joel Linebach, Case Western Reserve University, Kathryn Karipides Scholarship in Dance.
• Katherine Peters, Cleveland Institute of Art, John Paul Miller Scholarship in Visual Arts.
Emceed by actress Mariah Burks of Dobama Theater, the Gartner Auditorium program interspersed traditional medal presentations with electrifying performances of song, dance, music and poetry by past CAP honorees, including Black Culture collective Mourning [A] BLKstar (CAP ’21), poet Raymond McNiece (CAP ’21), jazz saxophonist Ernie Krivda (CAP ‘09), and Groundworks Dancetheater (CAP ’00). STORY AND PHOTOGRAPHS BY PEGGY TURBETT